Linda_Skillingstad_LgTherapist

I have always enjoyed working with children and their families who have daily struggles with mental health. I have 20 years of experience working in schools K-12 as a prevention specialist, school alcohol and drug counselor, social worker/student support and special education social worker. In addition, I have 12 years of experience working with families experiencing long term difficulties. Helping children and their families manage mental health issues while moving through developmental stages has always been a focus of mine.  I most often utilize psychoeducation, CBT, motivational interviewing, and solution focused therapies. I also have a strong interest in DBT therapy.

I have two young adult sons, and I enjoy visiting them and their trips home. At home I enjoy cooking, bicycling,gardening, camping and being outdoors in general. Although currently without a dog, we have cared for retired sled dogs, both of whom had run the Iditarod. After a break we will take another of the big guys into our home.

EDUCATION

Master’s Degree: MSW – University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
Bachelor’s Degree: PEd Parent Education – University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
Bachelor’s Degree: BS Speech and Hearing Science, Child Development U of M
Licensure: Certified Alcohol and Drug Counseling – University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
Internship:

PROFESSIONAL MEMBERSHIPS

National Association of Social Work (NASW)

SPECIAL CLINICAL INTERESTS

Psychoeducation
CBT Therapy
Motivational Interviewing
Solution focused Therapies
DBT therapy


Additional Info

Children, Adolescents: Yes
Adults: No